When you fall…

SLAM!

Last week I found myself falling flat on my face, slam! This was a humbling experience for me and reminded me that I have not yet reached the stage of perfection that I long for in my walk with Christ.

Sin has devastating effects on the life of a believer and I found my spiritual wifi connection was flickering with an orange light instead of a healthy green. This interrupted my spiritual downloads and uploads from heaven (I’ll speak about this concept in a later blog…) and I found it very difficult to sing praises to God and my prayers were accompanied by a heavy spiritual weight.

I fell because of a trap set by the enemy, one that he had used previously. I felt the gentle nudging of the Holy Spirit calling me back on track, but my pride couldn’t resist having a little self-gratification. Yes, I’m confessing my sins one to another!

Apostle Paul echoed my ‘wretched state’…

Romans 7: 19-25

 For I do not do the good I want to do, but the evil I do not want to do—this I keep on doing. Now if I do what I do not want to do, it is no longer I who do it, but it is sin living in me that does it.

So I find this law at work: Although I want to do good, evil is right there with me.  For in my inner being I delight in God’s law;  but I see another law at work in me, waging war against the law of my mind and making me a prisoner of the law of sin at work within me.  What a wretched man I am! Who will rescue me from this body that is subject to death?  Thanks be to God, who delivers me through Jesus Christ our Lord!

Sin is real and separates us from God. But glory be to God! Christ delivers us and sets us free from ourselves (flesh) so we can live above sin!

So what do you do when you fall? Get up!!!

For though the righteous fall seven times, they rise again. (Prov: 24:16a)

Get yourself up, recognise you have made a mistake and with a repentant heart, seek forgiveness.

Psalm 103:12 declares ‘as far as the east is from the west, so far has he removed our transgressions from us.’

But we must recognise our sin and seek out forgiveness.

God’s word commands us to be perfect (Matthew 5:48), holy (1:Pet 1:16) and Upright (Ezekial 18:5-9).

Living a continued life of repentence allows us to live up to that high calling.

So child of God get up!

‘Holiness, holiness is what I long for

Holiness is what I need
Holiness, holiness is what You
want from me

 So, take my heart and form it

Take my mind and transform it
Take my will and conform it
To Yours, to Yours, oh, Lord’

(Donnie Mclurkin)

Blessings, Maz x

Leave a comment